Stay In the Light

Ever feel like you get in a rut and forget everything you know? I do. I know I should meditate and breathe deeply, sing, move my body more, eat better food, laugh, forgive, accept forgiveness, listen, and show compassion. It is hard when I don’t feel good but it helps me feel good when I do these things, but I forget that.

For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known. 1 Corinthians 13:12 (ESV)

I like that verse because it reminds me we all need mirrors because as soon as we walk away from one, we have forgotten what we look like. But do we really see ourselves anyway? When I feel heavy about life I don’t want to look in the mirror.

I am a spiritual person, not a religious one. Religious people pray at the same time everyday or try not to step on cracks or whatever…I try not to do anything if my heart is not in it. I never could walk in lockstep or do what others expect me to do. I am contrary, even to myself.

I want to be lighter, physically, and emotionally. I want to walk on the path with the sun shine on it. It is my struggle, as I head off toward the shady woods…

