You Are Safe Here

If I were allowed to do so, I would offer to share my home with a Syrian family, or whats left of one. I would say to them, here is fresh water, a shower and a toilet, some food, and a bed. Rest for awhile. It’s quiet here and the doors lock. Bombs do not fall here from the sky. It’s not a perfect place but no one bangs on the doors in the middle of the night to haul away the men, never to be seen again. No one rapes the women in front of their children in this house. You are safe here.

We can learn each others language. We can shop for food in a grocery store I’m sure will overwhelm you. Hopefully find the foods that will comfort you. Cooking relaxes me. Maybe it does the same for you. I will be excited to learn new words and try new foods.

When you are ready, we will venture out. I will show you the places that I love like the zoo and the lakes, and some animal life like deer and swans in the Metroparks. When you are ready to go out into the open spaces…

I will hear you cry in the night. Tears will quietly roll down my cheeks. I’m so sorry. You will grieve your losses, your homeland, the people who speak your language, and those that understand your points of reference. You will need to be with others like you. I am sorry I can’t do more, but at least you are safe here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “You Are Safe Here

Comments are closed.